top of page

Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority was founded on January 15, 1908 on the campus of Howard University in Washington, DC.


Since then, the sorority has flourished into a globally-impactful organization of over 300,000 college-trained members, bound by the bonds of sisterhood and empowered by a commitment to servant-leadership that is both domestic and international in its scope.


Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated ®(AKA) was founded on a mission comprised of five basic tenets that have remained unchanged since the sorority’s inception more than a century ago. Alpha Kappa Alpha’s mission is to cultivate and encourage high scholastic and ethical standards, to promote unity and friendship among college women, to study and help alleviate problems concerning girls and women in order to improve their social stature, to maintain a progressive interest in college life, and to be of “Service to All Mankind"

Charter Members Of Tau Phi Omega

Gwendolyn V. Andrews

Freida Collins

Williabel J. Davis

Evelyn R. Hayes

Barbara C. Johnson

Robin M. Mitchell

Cliffie Reed

Hattie M. Walker

Elois S. Archer

Mary V. Currie

Florence S. Farley

Cheryl W. Hudson

Mildred C. Megginson

Anna Elnora Owens

Marlene J. Simpson

Anita C. Wynn

Anita H. Baker

Susie G. Darden

Bonnie M. Harden

Linda E. Jefferson

Rolaunda H. Miles

Sylvia W. Payne

Ernestine R. Tabor

Please reload

bottom of page